Enjoyable tracks in ‘Love Breakups Zindagi’

New Delhi: Film: ‘Love Breakups Zindagi’; Music Directors: Salim and Sulaiman Merchant; Lyricist: Javed Akhtar; Singers: Salim Merchant, Sonu Nigam, Shreya Ghoshal, Shradha Pandit, Shafqat Amanat Ali and Shruti Pathak; Rating: ***1/2

The music of ‘Love Breakups Zindagi’ is a testimony of its theme and feel and hence comprises songs revolving around the three words, love, break-up and zindagi (life). Salim-Sulaiman’s compositions don’t surprise anyone, but neither do they disappoint.

The album has four originals and one remix track.

The first song of the album ‘Rozanna’, enthusiastically crooned by Salim Merchant, is characterised by a pleasing acoustic beginning. An instantly likeable, candy floss and positive song, ‘Rozanna’ is moderately paced and gets you hooked, especially with the high octane used to sing the word ‘Rozanna’. That is the highlight of the track.

A good start to the album.

It also has a remixed version mixed by DJ A-Myth.

The next one is a song that brings together talented singers like Sonu Nigam, Shreya Ghoshal, Shradha Pandit and Salim himself. Called “Rab rakha”, the song has a slight Sufi touch, which is a part of Salim-Sulaiman’s inherent style of composition. A hummable track that you would like to hear in loop. However, the only dampener is the few English words incorporated in the song. They seem quite unwanted.

Next, romance flaps its wings with ‘Love love love’ that has Benny Dayal and Shradha Pandit behind the mike. A song with a strong pop feel, ‘Love love love’ has a slight similarity to American singer Jason Mraz’ ‘I’m yours’. But that doesn’t take away the interest from this track-it has its own individuality as well. It’s peppy and lively, spreading a youthful flavour.

Finally, the album takes a grim turn with Shafqat Amanat Ali, Salim and Shruti Pathak singing ‘Chhayee hai tanhayee’. A poignant number that creates a pensive mood, the song has a Sufi flavour and is worth a hear.

On the whole, Salim-Sulaiman have brought to the table a light, entertaining and free-flowing score-a reason good enough to buy the album.

(Follow IBNLive.com on Facebook and on Twitter<!– , and on Google+ –> for updates that you can share with your friends.)

Not a member yet?

More on IBNLive Right Now




The stunning Sonam Kapoor: 'Saawariya' to 'Mausam'Birthday bumps: Shabana Azmi turns 61Top 25: The Weirdest World RecordsTop 10: Android phones below Rs 10,000

  • Sikkim earthquake: eyewitnesses talk about the fear

  • Sikkim earthquake: one dead in Bihar

  • Severe quake rocks Sikkim, 11 killed

  • One child succumbed to injuries: Chief Secy Sikkim

  • Sikkim quake: Eyewitness speaks about tremors in WB

  • 6.8 quake hits Sikkim, buildings damaged

  • Applied for dharna permission 2 days back: Mukul Sinha

  • This is not Sadbhavna, this is sad bhavna: Sarabhai

  • Mallika Sarabhai, 2002 Gujarat riot victims detained

Posted in Articles | Tagged as: | Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.