Once Upon A Time In Mumbaai leads IIFA nominations

Ajay Devgn’s Once Upon A Time In Mumbaai is leading the nominations list of 12th International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) awards with 12 nominations followed by Salman Khan-starrer Dabangg with 11.
Both Salman and Ajay will be competing with each other for the best actor trophy and

both the films have also been nominated in the best film category.

Other actors fighting for the title of best actor are Hrithik Roshan for Guzaarish, Shah Rukh Khan for My Name Is Khan and Ranbir Kapoor for Rajneeti.

The best film category also includes Band Baaja Baaraat, My Name Is Khan and Rajneeti.

Once Upon A Time in Mumbaai has also been nominated for best direction by Milan Luthria. Emraan Hashmi has picked up two nominations for best actor in a supporting role and best performance in a negative role, while Prachi Desai has been nominated for best actress in a supporting role for the film.

Other nominations include best music for Pritam, best lyrics Irshad Kamil for the song Pee loon, best screenplay, best dialogue and best story for Rajat Arora and Mohit Chauhan as best playback singer male for Pee loon.

Dabangg has also been nominated in best direction category for Abhinav Kashyap, best supporting actress for Dimple Kapadia and best performance in a negative role for Sonu Sood. Dilip Shukla and Abhinav Kashyap have been nominated in best screenplay as well as best dialogue categories.

Music composers Sajid-Wajid and Lalit Pandit have been nominated in the best music category, while Rahat Fateh Ali Khan (Tere Mast Mast Do Nain) and Mamta Sharma ( Munni Badnam) have landed nominations in best playback singer male and best play back singer female categories respectively. Faiz Anwar has been nominated in the best lyrics category for Tere mast mast do nain.

Newcomer Anushka Sharma will be competing with established actresses like Kareena Kapoor for Golmaal 3, Aishwarya Rai Bachchan for Guzaarish, Vidya Balan for Ishqiya and Katrina Kaif for Rajneeti.

The nominations in best direction category are Maneesh Sharma for Band Baaja Baaraat, Sanjay Leela Bhansali for Guzaarish, Karan Johar for My Name Is Khan and Vikramaditya Motwane for Udaan.

The nominations in best actor in a supporting role are Mithun Chakraborty for Golmaal 3, Arshad Warsi for Ishqiya, Arjun Rampal and Manoj Bajpayee for Rajneeti, while the best supporting actress category include Amrita Puri for Aisha, Ratna Pathak Shah for Golmaal 3, Shernaz Patel for Guzaarish.

Best actor in comic role nominations are Paresh Rawal for Atithi Tum Kab Jaoge, Johnny Lever for Golmaal 3, Ritiesh Deshmukh for Housefull, Anil Kapoor for No Problem and Praduman Singh for Tere Bin Laden.

The nominations for best music director are Salim-Suleman for Band Baaja Baaraat, Vishal-Shekhar for I Hate Luv Storys, Vishal Bhardwaj for Ishqiya and Shankar Ehsaan Loy for My Name is Khan.

Best playback singer male nominees are Vishal Dadlani for Adhoore from Break Ke Baad, Shafqat Amanat Ali for Bin tere from I Hate Luv Storys, Rahat Fateh Ali Khan for Dil toh bachcha hai ji from Ishqiya and Shankar Mahadevan for Uff teri ada from Karthik Calling Karthik.

Those competing in the best playback singer female category are Sunidhi Chauhan for Ainvayi Ainvayi from Band Baaja Baaraat and Shiela ki jawani from Tees Maar Khan, Shreya Ghoshal for Bahara from I Hate Luv Storys and Rekha Bhardwaj for Ab muzhe from Ishqiya.

The awards will be held in Toronto from June 23-25.

Posted in Articles | Tagged as: | Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.