Rockstar leads Apsara Award nominations

Rockstar has topped the nomination list of the Chevrolet Apsara Film and Television Producers Guild Awards 2012 with 13 nods, with its lead actor Ranbir Kapoor competing with the likes of Shah Rukh Khan and Salman Khan for the best actor honour for the film.
Also competing in the best

actor category are Emraan Hashmi for Murder 2 and Ajay Devgn for the blockbuster Singham.

In terms of overall nominations, The Dirty Picture and Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara are at par with nine nods each.

Rockstar, which tracks the journey of an aspiring singer, won nominations in best screenplay and best director for Imtiaz Ali, best music for A.R.Rahman, best singer male Mohit Chauhan for Saada haq and Nadaan parindey, best singer female for Harshdeep Kaur for Katiya karun.

It is also nominated for best actress in supporting role for Aditi Rao Hydari and best film, while Lyricist Irshad Kamil has been nominated in the best lyrics category for Nadaan parindey. Rockstar has also been nominated for best cinematography, sound design and sound mixing.

In the best film category, Rockstar is competing with No One Killed Jessica, Singham, The Dirty Picture and Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara.

Ali is vying for the best director trophy along with Rohan Sippy for Dum Maaro Dum, Rajkumar Gupta for No One Killed Jessica, Rohit Shetty for Singham, Milan Luthria for The Dirty Picture and Zoya Akhtar for Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara.

The bold and sensous performance of Silk in The Dirty Picture has landed Vidya Balan a nomination in best actress category, along with Priyanka Chopra for 7 Khoon Maaf, Katrina Kaif for Mere Brother Ki Dulhan, Rani Mukerji for No One Killed Jessica, Mahie Gill for Saheb Biwi Aur Gangster and Kangna Ranaut for Tanu Weds Manu.

Music composer Pritam has bagged three nominations in best music category for Bodyguard, Dum Maaro Dum and Ready. Also nominated in best music category are Sachin-Jigar for F.A.L.T.U. and Sohail Sen for Mere Brother Ki Dulhan.

The nominations for best singer female are Shreya Ghoshal Teri meri from Bodyguard and Saibo from Shor in the City, Sunidhi Chauhan for Te amo from Dum Maaro Dum and Aa zara from Murder 2 and Neha Bhasin for Dhunki from Mere Brother Ki Dulhan.

Veteran actor Naseeruddin Shah has been nominated in two categories best performance in a negative role and best actor in supporting role. Both nominations are for his work in The Dirty Picture.

The award function, which will also see small screen talent being awarded across seven categories, will be held January 25 at the Yash Raj Studios.

Posted in Articles | Tagged as: | Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.